The Walking Dead – Season 5 ep. 2 and 3: The bible verses at the church

I love love love this series in so many ways!!! Not only because of the story, the awesome characters or the thrilling moments. I love the show, too, because there are some moments where you have to think about the religious hints. Hershel was one man who quoted from the bible very often. I loved it. It made you think about the parallels between the show and maybe the bible. And the episode 2 of season 5 was very exciting because the group has been at a church. I don’t want to spoil so much, so I won’t tell anything about the story. But there were some bible verses we all know from our churchs and I wondered what kind of text they tell. So I researched and now I have found the biblical texts for you. Not surprisingly they tell from the living dead🙂 But, and that’s what I like, they give some hope, too. Here are the verses:

TheWalkingDead_5-3Rom 6.4 We were therefore buried with him through baptism into death in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, we too may live a new life.

Eze 37,7 So I prophesied as I was commanded. And as I was prophesying, there was a noise, a rattling sound, and the bones came together, bone to bone. I looked, and tendons and flesh appeared on them and skin covered them, but there was no breath in them.

Ma 27, 52 and the tombs broke open. The bodies of many holy people who had died were raised to life.

Re 9,6 During those days people will seek death but will not find it; they will long to die, but death will elude them.

Lu 24,5 In their fright the women bowed down with their faces to the ground, but the men said to them, “Why do you look for the living among the dead?

But why hope? Well, at Lu 24,6 following you can read: He is not here; he has risen! Remember how he told you, while he was still with you in Galilee: ‘The Son of Man must be delivered over to the hands of sinners, be crucified and on the third day be raised again.’ Then they remembered his words.

I don’t know if the set designer thought about that (I think, yes, they did! And I used google for research but didn’t find anything about it), but sure, it could be a hint for the course of this and especially the following episode 3?!

What do you think?

Und was sagst du dazu?

